Grads celebrate another challenging school year


Graduation exercises at Killarney School were different again this year, but they were also very well done, accommodating graduates and their families with a drive-in style graduation ceremony.

Last year’s grad ceremony was supposed to be an anomaly, the likes of which had never been seen before, due to COVID-19 numbers rising around the world and the subsequent restrictions that came down from governments. No one expected COVID restrictions to still be in place a year later, much less tougher restrictions.

There was no denying what pandemic restrictions had done to the school year, but this year’s Killarney School Grad Class handled it as best they could and they received their diplomas. Resilience was a word that came up a lot at the ceremony, and it seemed to define the Grads of 2021.

With the flat bed trailer stage in the center, and graduates and their families spaced apart, in and around their vehicles, which encircled the stage, it was really quite an impressive scene.

Grads, front and center in their family space, came up one by one to accept their diplomas from principal Terry Beazley, while vice principal Erica Hilhorst read out their names, their favourite school memories, and the scholarships they’d won. Beazley and Hilhorst both offered words of encouragement to the grads throughout the ceremony, along with grad parent and outgoing superintendent Tim De Ruyck.

Wednesday’s afternoon’s ceremony on the Killarney School grounds was a well-organized and fitting tribute to the 32 grads that picked up their diplomas that day.

Valedictorians Parker Korman and Fallon Kramer took turns delivering the valedictory address to their classmates, at separate podiums, à la COVID-19 protocol.

Several other speeches followed, which would usually be given at the grad banquet that was cancelled once again this year.

Zander Kummer gave the toast to the teachers with the teachers’ response by Mrs. Thiessen-Kramer and Mrs. Lovett. Abby Nichol was in charge of toasting the boys, and Cody Gudnason returned the favour with a toast to the girls. Riley Dyck delivered the toast to the parents, while Terell Korman and Stacey Dyck answered back with a toast to the grads.

Kayla Solomon began the ceremony playing O Canada on her trumpet, and ended it by playing God Save the Queen.

Next it was time for the grand march, some more photos, and the big grad parade around town on flat deck trailers. 

Congratulations to the Class of 2021 on what was surely a challenging finish to their high school careers. A list of the bursary, scholarship, and award winners follows.

Benevolent Protective Order of Elks Bursary: Aaron Mason, Abby Nichol, Emma DeRuyck, Fallon Kramer. Killarney Elks Special Achievement Award: Angelene Mousseau. Sanders Scholarship: Vincent Holweger. Killarney Royal Canadian Legion #25 Bursary: Abilynn Shackel. Killarney Royal Canadian Legion Branch #25 Scholarship: Abby Nichol. Heide Enterprises Inc. Scholarship: Vincent Holweger. James Gary Campbell Memorial Scholarship: Kieran Nowazek. Boundary Consumers Co-op Graduation Bursary: Aaron Mason. Boundary Consumers Co-op Team Member Scholarship: Fallon Kramer. Struth Publishing Scholarship: Abby Nichol. The Senior Band Director’s Award: Kieran Nowazek. Frank and Ethel White Memorial Scholarship: Kieran Nowazek. Tri-Lake Health Centre Auxiliary Award: Fallon Kramer. Westoba Credit Union Business Education Award: Abby Nichol. Westoba Credit Union Agricultural Award: Vincent Holweger. Westman Communications Group Scholarship: Owen Outhwaite. Turtle Mountain Teacher’s Association Scholarship Award: Abilynn Shackel. The Gordon Bartley Memorial Agriculture Bursary: Vincent Holweger, Aaron Mason. The Lewis & Jones Group Scholarship Award: Aaron Mason, Abby Nichol. Doric Lodge 36 Ancient Free & Accepted Masons Award: Aaron Mason. Killarney Kinsmen Club Bursary: Abby Nichol. Killarney Foundation Bursary: Aaron Mason, Abby Nichol, Fallon Kramer, Kieran Nowazek, Owen Outhwaite, Vincent Holweger. Turtle Mountain Social Justice Award: Kieran Nowazek. Frank and Queenie Collyer Scholarship: Emma DeRuyck. Dora Trump Estate Scholarship: Abby Nichol. Pat Shule Memorial Bursary: Aaron Mason. Order of the Royal Purple: Fallon Kramer. Governor General’s Bronze Medal:  Fallon Kramer.

2021 KILLARNEY SCHOOL GRADS – Back group in suits (from left): Parker Korman, Alexander Kummer, Kieran Nowazek, Owen Outhwaite, James Villanueva, Vincent Holweger, Carson Lockhart, Cody Gudnason, Hunter Neufeld, Josh Gudnason, Cayden Barwick, Arsene Samuragwa, Riley Dyck, Andrew Andries, Aaron Mason, and Rylan Pettypiece. Middle group: Kent Canencia, Karlee McNab, Emma De Ruyck, Fallon Kramer, Abby Nichol, Ericka Blair, and Abilynn Shackel. Front row: Koralee Mayhew, Marize Mangonon, Gislaine Irankunda, and Shelby Mabon.


VALEDICTORY ADDRESS – Valedictorians Parker Korman (above) and Fallon Kramer (below) took turns delivering the valedictory address to their classmates, at separate podiums, à la COVID-19 protocol.

GOVERNOR GENERAL’S BRONZE MEDAL – Fallon Kramer was the recipient of the Governor General’s Bronze Medal, which is awarded to the Killarney School graduate with the highest academic average. Principal Terry Beazley presented the medal on behalf of the Governor General. Keep scrolling to view the parade of grads through town, which this year was not affiliated with Killarney School itself. It was a great way for the community to get a look at this year’s graduates.

Grads of 2021 paraded through Killarney on flat decks

GRADS ON PARADE – From left: Carson Lockhart, Alexander Kummer, Hunter Neufeld, and Josh Gudnason, along with their fellow Killarney School graduates, were paraded through the streets of Killarney on flat deck trailers late Wednesday afternoon.

From left: Fallon Kramer, Marize Mangonon, Koralee Mayhew, and Abilynn Shackel…

…Ericka Blair, Shelby Mabon, and Karlee McNab…

…Owen Outhwaite, Riley Dyck, Vincent Holweger, and Aaron Mason…

…Rylan Pettypiece, Cayden Barwick, and Cody Gudnason…

…Kent Canencia, Kieran Nowazek, and James Villanueva…

…and Parker Korman, Andrew Andries, and Abby Nichol.