Shamrocks look to take lead in league final series tonight


The Killarney Shamrocks look to take the lead tonight against the Gladstone Lakers in game three of the THHL final series here at the Shamrock Centre.

The Shamrocks won game one 6-3 last Friday night in Killarney, but lost game two 2-1 on Saturday in Gladstone.

Killarney jumped out to a two-goal lead in the first period of game one with goals by Lee Magwood (Thomas Bell, Andrew Lockhead) and Colton Magwood (Jesse Bernard, Ryan Howatt).

Killarney’s Isaac Friesen opened the scoring in the second, assisted by Clayton Heinrichs, followed by a Gladstone power play marker from Jesse Paradis (Lyndon Soper).

Killarney followed with a power play goal by Jesse Bernard (Isaac Friesen, Ryan Howatt), and finished the period with an even strength tally by Joel Cardinal-Schultz (Tanner Anderson, Lane Ganske).

Bryce Lamb netted the Shamrocks’ last goal in the third period, assisted by Friesen and Heinrichs), followed by two Gladstone goals for the 6-3 final.

All the goals in Saturday’s Gladstone game came on the power play, with Killarney netting the first one in the first period by Bryce Lamb (Jesse Bernard, Aubrey Chapman).

Gladstone’s Garrett Johnston would score in the second, assisted by Nick Stire, and Jordon Geddes in the third, assisted by Garrett Johnston and Jesse Paradis, to make it a 2-1 final for Gladstone.

Game three goes at 8 p.m. tonight at the Shamrock Centre.


GAME WINNING GOAL – Killarney’s Jesse Bernard puts home the game winner against the Gladstone Lakers on Friday night at the Shamrock Centre. Gladstone evened the series in game two, and the Shamrocks look to regain the series lead tonight at home.


ICING ON THE CAKE – Joel Cardinal-Schultz of the Shamrocks pots Killarney’s fifth goal on Friday night, en route to a 6-3 victory over the Gladstone Lakers in game one.


APPRECIATION NIGHT – Killarney Minor Hockey teams, from Novice to Bantam, took centre stage on Friday night before game one to celebrate their season’s accomplishments in front of a capacity crowd.


TROPHIES ON THE LINE – Both the Blaine Jarvis Memorial THHL Playoff MVP Trophy (left), which was awarded to Brian Archibald in 2016 and Reid Gow in 2017, and the THHL Championship Trophy (right), which the Shamrocks won in 2016 and in 2017, are up for grabs this weekend. The trophy in the middle is the Manitoba Cup Senior A Provincial Championship. “We will need to win this weekend to have a chance for another Provincial Championship,” said Shamrocks manager Patrick Monkman. Come out and catch the action!